36 week update and a visit from the Sheep lady

Today was a pretty quick appointment with no major news.  Bradford is progressing well in terms of growth, and we were told that all looks good.  His heart beat was in the 130’s, and he’s still moving around pretty good.  I have started having some Braxton-Hicks contractions, some painful but mostly not with no consistency to them.  I am not dilated at all yet…so we’ll see if anything changes next week!

To end the day, we had a wonderful visit with my friend, Moina (who’s real name is Christy.)  Since college, Moina and I have both had a fascination with sheep, not because of their attractive features or endearing nature but because of all of the references to us humans as sheep in the Bible.  For example, God tells us in John 10: 14-15: “I am the good shepherd; I know my sheep and my sheep know me— just as the Father knows me and I know the Father—and I lay down my life for the sheep.”  Moina and I have talked a lot about the analogy of us and sheep and Jesus as our shepherd a lot.  We have certainly learned a lot through comparing ourselves to sheep and realizing how important it is that we have a shepherd to guide us.

We have also added a lot of humor to the sheep fascination… Scene from college:  Moina and I driving somewhere down  Milledge avenue probably talking or singing or something in the car.  Moina abrubtly comes to a halt directly next to the random pasture of sheep near the Botanical Gardens.  She then proceeds to get us both out of the car posing by the sheep on the side of the road, as cars are driving by and takes a picture of us!  All of this explanation of sheep is to explain the background information that led to my excitement when she gave us the perfect gift last night for little Bradford’s room.

As you can see, this is one over-sized sheep.  Please pay attention to the proportions of the sheep, and how the legs and head clearly match the size of the body.  Apparently, this sheep lives in a land either with very big sheep, or very little houses.  I am excited about teaching Bradford about his status as a sheep, and about Jesus being his shepherd.  And now, thanks to Moina, I will have the visual reminder for him to go along with this important lesson from the Bible.

We love you Moina!  Please come back soon and visit, Opal Dean already misses you!

 

 

Leave a Reply

