Thoughts on Week 1

It’s really hard to believe that Bradford was born one week ago today.  I feel like we have been through the most intensely amazing week that I have ever experienced, and am still processing everything that has happened.  I have been a pretty absent from the blogging world over the past week, and have appreciated Andy updating with pictures and information.  However, I finally feel that I can sit down and begin to think and describe my thoughts on the past week.  For those of you who don’t like to read, just skip to the next post…there will be more pictures.

A lot of people have asked about the labor.  To save you the gross details, I will be brief.  I went into labor on my own (which was a big answer to prayer) on Tuesday morning at about 8 am.  I went ahead to my weekly doctor’s appointment that morning, and was sent to the hospital after they monitored my contractions and found they were 2-3 minutes apart consistently at that point.  My excitement level went through the roof as I got to text Andy that we were going to the hospital.  Upon arrival, I think it was a combination of excitement, anxiety, and being in pain from contractions that made me have to think really hard to answer simple questions such as “how old are you?” and “how tall are you?”  We were admitted to the hospital at about 12:30 pm and I got the epidural soon after.  The next 8 hours were so much fun, as we hung out with parents and friends in little to no pain.  

At about 8 pm, it came time to push the baby out.  This is where the story got a little scary.  We didn’t know, but Bradford was turned face up, making for a very difficult time getting him to come out.  After 2 hours of pushing, the use of a vacuum to pull him out, and talk of needing to get a c-section, Bradford decided to join the world at 9:53 pm.  The rush of emotion both Andy and I felt is pretty indescribable.  As we cried and hugged, and were assured our baby was OK, I knew that it was not completely OK.  Bradford came out very white and was clearly having a hard time breathing.  I was able to hold him for about 30 seconds, and he was wisked away to spend about 5 days in the NICU.

To say the least, those next 5 days were completely amazing, emotional, intense, exhausting, and joyful.  I can’t put words to how much I have loved becoming a mom and am so excited to hold my little boy.  We have been overwhelmed by all the support, prayers, and encouragement we have received from friends and family this week.  Bringing him home was so exciting (which Andy and I expressed by crying the entire way home and almost getting in a wreck in the parking lot because we couldn’t see or think straight.)  Since coming home, we have had so much fun learning how to be parents and spending time with people as they love on our boy.  I have so much more to say, but will stop there as I feel that is enough to read.  

Thank you everybody for cheering me on in the NICU, praying for my progress, and for all of you who held me this week!

3 thoughts on “Thoughts on Week 1

  1. Oh, Em….you’ve got me in tears over here. This was an awesome and wonderful post. Thank you for the details and processing. I love it.

    We love you little bradford!!!!!

  2. ah! what a great birth story! it brought tears. i looove birth stories and hope to hear more details of yours (if you’re willing to share) in the future! 🙂 isn’t it insane the emotions, attachment, and mentality that come with parenthood that we didn’t even know existed before babies! wow. it’s indescribable. congrats again. love reading up on your blog!

Leave a Reply

