To act Justly, and to love Mercy

**Update:  The trial went well, and I just found out that the guy was found guilty and sentenced to life with 25 years to serve and 25 years probation.  Praise God for justice served in this situation, and for the little girl who can feel safe knowing that he is in jail for a long time.**

I am reminded tonight of one of the evils of the world as I sit and prepare to go to court tomorrow.  In my job at the TreeHouse, I worked with numerous children who are victims of some type of abuse.  The statistics are startling: 1 in 4 girls and 1 in 6 boys will be victims of sexual abuse by the time they are 18!  Wow!  It is easy to sit back and act like this isn’t true, that abuse doesn’t happen, and that my time at the TreeHouse was just a dream.  Sadly, this is not the case.  It is real and it does exist, and there are a lot of children out there who need help.  

Our pastor has been doing a sermon series on justice and mercy recently; as a result, I have been thinking about these kids a lot and what I can do to help.  I so admire all the staff who passionately serve kids day in, day out at the TreeHouse.   I learned so much from the ladies I worked with, and am sad that I am no longer in a position where I will see them and the many kids we worked with every day.  My role has changed as I’m home with sweet Bradford, and I have been praying for direction as to how I can use my experience to still make a difference.  The part of my job I was always very anxious about was going to court.  Unfortunately, when God calls us to something, it’s not always easy and it’s often something we cannot do on our own.  So, in answer to my prayers, I will be going to court tomorrow to attempt to “act justly, love mercy, and walk humbly with your God.” (Micah 6:8).  With much prayer and preparation, I am anxious, yet thankful for the chance to be a part of justice being served.

That said, I would appreciate your prayers for the trial that is going on this week.  Please pray for the little child that will have to testify, for all the other witnesses – that we would be able to speak clearly and communicate truth, for the jury- that they would hear the truth clearly, and for justice to be served in this situation.

3 thoughts on “To act Justly, and to love Mercy

  1. wow. you are my hero. i’m amazed at the stories you tell and am so thankful that you are out there serving these children. what an sad, yet awesome thing to be a part of. 🙂

Leave a Reply

